Return to Headlines

Kirkwood High School Wind Ensemble Selected to Perform at Missouri Music Educators Association Conference

The Kirkwood High School Wind Ensemble was selected to perform at the 85th Annual Missouri Music Educators Association (MMEA) In-Service Workshop/Conference, “Grow MO: Telling Our Story, Influencing Our Future” January 25-28, 2023 in Osage Beach, MO.


The KHS wind ensemble submitted a recorded audition to MMEA. KHS learned of their acceptance via a letter from MMEA president Brian Hartman. “The number and the quality of applications received are a testament to the high level of music instruction in Missouri, and to the perseverance of teachers and students to strive for excellence.”


Members of the KHS Wind Ensemble are:


Katie Whittaker, Emery Bowman, Amelia Christopher and Sarah Duncan



Sharon Wirth, Sim Khanuja, Claire Butzlaff, Haley Brown, Vas Djuranovic, Ali Nielsen, Clara Banks, Jonah Bond and Noah Keplinger


Bass Clarinet

Beckett Whitworth and Theo Puryear


Contra Alto Clarinet

Selma Dahms


Contra Bass Clarinet

Beckett Whitworth



Liz Myers


Alto Saxophone

Isaac Bednarski, Kylie Madden and Ethan Parker


Tenor Saxophone

Timmy Schiller


Bari Saxophone

Keegan Greenwood



Charlotte Spohr, Ruby Waterson, Bennett Griggs, Connor Eilerts, Margaret McPheeters and Jude Bedenbaugh



Abigail Konopik, Timmy Markee, Ali McClure and Max Welge



Evan Pazero, Althea Althauser, Jack Gibson and Robbie Winter 



Hannah Pierce and Jed Holliday



Jacob Buchek and Ethan Pokress 



Lily Mitchell, Henry Blaine, Jack Cannon, Wyatt Byers, Zach Thomson, Trevor Morgan, Kai Sanford and Lawrence Ringwald